Just because you have been arrested and charged with a Tennessee DUI doesn't mean your guilty you can fight and win.

As many know, a Tennessee DUI is a misdemeanor criminal offense, however, it carries with it grave consequences for most people, especially those citizens who have jobs, or those who will seek employment or to further their education in the future. As legislation in Tennessee and other states continues the trend of more severe penalties, so too does the stigma associated with a DUI. Many applications now ask specifically whether an applicant has ever been convicted of driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated.

The following are the penalties for those convicted of a Tennessee DUI or Tennessee Driving Under the Influence charge. Please note that a driver only loses his or her license from a Tennessee DUI only if they are found guilty of DUI or Violation of Implied Consent Charge.

Tennessee DUI Penalties

First Offense:

48 hours minimum, up to 11 months 29 days in jail
24 hours of litter pick-up
BAC of .20% carries minimum 7 days in jail.
1 year loss of driver’s license
$350 to $1500 fine + court costs
DUI school or Mother’s Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Victim Impact Panel
SR–22 high risk auto insurance

Second Offense:

$600 to $3,500 fine + court costs
45 days minimum, up to 11 months 29 days in jail.
2 years loss of license; After 1 year, a restricted license is allowed after
completion of a DUI school
SR–22 high risk auto insurance
DUI school
Vehicle forfeiture
Ignition interlock device at your expense

Third Offense:

120 days minimum, up to 11 months 29 days in jail
$1100 to $10,000 mandatory fine + court costs
3 to 10 years loss of license; No restricted driver’s license
SR-22 high risk auto insurance
DUI school
Vehicle forfeiture
Ignition interlock device at your expense

Fourth DUI Offense:

Class "E" Felony
1 year in jail, 150 days minimum served consecutively
$3000 up to $15,000 mandatory fine + court costs
5 years loss of license. No allowance for a restricted driver’s license
SR-22 high risk auto insurance
DUI school
Vehicle forfeiture
Ignition interlock device at your expense

If you are facing criminal charges related to drunk driving in Maryville, Sevierville or anywhere in East Tennessee, call the Garza Law Firm located in Knoxville TN at (865) 540-8300 to schedule your free case evaluation today!